Wednesday, March 18, 2009

STRANGE SCIENCE FANTASY





I'm in the works on a new idea, a new "ongoing" idea. I want some opinions from the folks that would maybe be buying such a thing. You guys.

I'm looking to launch STRANGE SCIENCE FANTASY as a series of 48 page, self-contained, Kirby/Ditko-esque comics. Each "issue" would contain a complete story featuring characters that might or might not appear in the next issue. Very much in the vein of STRANGE TALES, TALES TO ASTONISH!, and TALES OF SUSPENSE, pre-hero. We're talking about the meat of graphic novel ideas as 48 page old fashioned comics. So you get a lot of bang for your buck.

Interiors would be 2 color, and I'd love to do the books as hardcovers, but I want opinions on what YOU'D rather see: Good old fashioned floppy comics for $3.99, or nice hardcovers for more, maybe around $9.95-$12.95 a pop.

These would more than likely never be collected in another form (ie, no compilations), UNLESS I did them as floppies. Then you might get collections down the line.

Thoughts?

Launch date TBD...but they're in the works and coming your way in the coming months!

Oh, and TEN AGAINST THE WORLD will be a separate adventure...not under the STRANGE SCIENCE FANTASY umbrella. Just a heads up!

31 comments:

ChimpManZee said...

I'd prefer the hardcover collections...

steve said...

Scott, have you thought about "digest" size? I remember getting quite a few books from Oni, and I think Marvel originally put Runaways out in that size. They're fun. I dunno. This may not be much help, but I am looking forward to having these in hand. The idea sounds great!

Kev said...

Normally I would say go for the hard covers, 'cause I like those, but for this I think the comics would be much better, it adds to the whole 'old school' style of monster comic you're going for.

And then collect them all later in a nice big hard cover.

Plus current economics mean the cheaper option is better. Certainly for me it is.

I totally LOVE this idea by the way, I think this is going to be an AWESOME series! :)

Kev

ramon said...

floppies please! and then the collections could be nice oversized hardbacks. :D

johnpotten said...

Exciting!

Either would suit me, but I guess if they could be like the tintin or asterix books in size I would go for hardcovers. Not sure if that would make them more than $12.50 though - guess there's a call as to what is economic to produce too.

Whatever you decide, bring them on!

Any news on special editions of Sex & science or should I just get my order in now?

John

Randy said...

I'm with Kev and Ramon... floppies first, big swanky expensive hardcovers later. That's for me as a fan.

Is this something you're going to sell in the direct market? If that's the case, with my retailer hat, I definitely suggest going floppies, it'll be easier to sell $3.99 comics to a casual reader.

Chris McLaren said...

I'd gladly spring for the hardcovers.

If the other alternative is floppy and then snazzy HC, I'll just end up buying everything twice.

Dave said...

Floppy is more affordable but 10-13 bucks for a 48 page hardcover is a steal, too. My vote is hardcover but will pick up either.

Will Strong said...

I'm a big fan of short stories and I would love to see this kind of thing get published. I get really bored with the never ending plot lines and I think a new story every month would be great.

I would buy it in either form (hard or soft cover) but I tend to like hardcovers more for their longevity.

j_ay said...

Sounds great!

I'm a floppy kinda guy.

Dan Pinto said...

I'm pro floppies.

This sounds awesome though and I'll probably buy it either way.

Rich Hennemann said...

Definitely HARDCOVERS for me....

nandoninny said...

i say floppies too.
then a nice hardcover collection.

i would buy the floppies, then once the hardcover came out i'd buy it and pass the floppies to my buddies who may not be familiar with your work yet.

i travel alot so floppies are way better than hardcovers for me to take, but i also like having a nice hardcover on the bookshelf.

plus you get my money 2x that way.

Sean Leslie said...

I love hardcovers. But I know a lot of people who can't afford hardcovers and want the floppies. I think it would probably be the best to do floppies and then hardcovers down the line. Just my 2-cents.

Frederic Portal said...

I'd gladly Go for the hardcovers.
The work deserve it :)

It sound great! Any time frame of release?

KaraokeFanboy said...

I'd love an oversized floppy, in the vein of IDW's "Doomed." Two-color, sounds awesome!

Invisible Ninja said...

I'd love to see them as oversized HCs. Kinda like the french comics, they'd be great next to my Tiger Tiger that way.

Zach said...

I'd prefer HC's but I'm interested in picking them up either way.

Benjamin Marra said...

Floppies! By all that is holy: Floppies!

The content demands that form. Plus, why must everything that's published be built to last forever? Something is more precious when you have to care for it. Floppies.

tamblyn said...

I'd prefer to pick them up in comic form.

Timothy Callahan said...

I'd prefer the hardcover, and I think it would make it more of an event if that's the only way it was released. As a floppy, it'd just get drowned out by all the others, sadly.

Totoche Tannenen said...

Because of the big difference of price : floppy.
Furthermore, with the shipping cost, it will be "impossible" to buy (for me).
By the way, sorry to be banal, but I love these "inked", nervous, drawings.

Frosty said...

Dude you have a great style! I was wondering if you ever have done a Darth Vader? I am creating a tribute book to George Lucas called "100 Ways to the Darkside" where I am having 100 hand picked artist create Darth Vader. I would love one for the book in your style. Please let me know if your interested!

Thanks a million

- Josh
[url]www.joshfrost.wordpress.com[/url]

colorado cookseys said...

I would definitely prefer floppies, but I will buy whatever you publish. You are genius!

Atz said...

Floppies first, hardcovers later!
Good ol' paper issues would really enhance the old-school character you're going for, and be more affordable.

Brian Taylor Illustration said...

Definitely gotta go with the flimsy format over glossy hardback.

KW said...

these are all beautiful! i especially love Ten Against the World.

thanks for sharing!
KW

Jed said...

Haven't been here in a while! Obviously I've been missing out! This sounds like a great project! I prefer periodical form (when did we start calling these "floppies" instead of magazines?) because of expense, and I just like the format. I'd even dig it if you did it on newsprint! Newsprint would look good with the two color format. These covers are great. I'm anxious to see the finished product.

shiro said...

Kyaa Ancient Joe, is that just a tease or might he really apear? XD

I'd take them any format they came in but I guess my preference would be for floppies. X3

C B Sorge said...

I would MUCH prefer buying the hardcovers over floppies any day!

America needs more bande dessine (european-style) books! Gorgeous and hard-bound and a big enough bite for your buck!

bmcmolo said...

I re-read this series last night. Issue #3 should have won every award in sight last year. I loved the hell out of this series.

What happened to these covers / ideas you list here? Was there a whole different Strange Science Fantasy released somewhere? (And how do I find it?)

Any more on the horizon? Hope so.